Birthday State of Mind

Hello all,

These pictures are from my birthday weekend (4/27-4/29). I spent my birthday in New York aka the city that never sleeps (literally). I went to New York to see the Lion King on Broadway. I have wanted to see the Lion King for years, but for reasons out of my control it never happened, until now. While I was in New York, a Haitian band was in town and performing at a popular restaurant/lounge SOB’s. So of course I had to go and check them out. Although I had a good time, my birthday wasn’t quite how I had envisioned it. Here’s hoping there’s a next year lol (morbid I know). Enjoy the pics!

Fri

We went to The Brooklyneer to wait for the RAM show to begin. One of my favorite things about New York is the plethora of bars and restaurants in all of the boroughs. I wasn’t too crazy about this place though. The music was deafening, you couldn’t carry a coherent conversation in there. The food was just ok for the price. I am glad that we didn’t have to spend that much time in there though.

I really want to know what is up with restaurants/bars having 5 maybe 6 items to choose from for a meal. One would think this means that the items will be especially delicious. But nope, they always seem to be average at best.Image

I ordered chicken tacos, they were just ok.

Image

My friend who accompanied me to New York for the weekend.

Image

A photographer at the event took my picture, and it came out very nice.

Image

The musicians were being entertained by a rather drunk woman by the stage. Her antics were very R rated.

Image

Notice this guy on the right hand side, he is not part of the band or the show. He jumped onto the stage and proceeded to steal the show lol. He was quite entertaining as well.

Image

But the show must go on.

Image

Outfit Details

Top: TJ Maxx, Pants: Sears, Shoes & Jacket: Arden B, Clutch: F21

Sat

The Tribeca Fim Festival was wrapping up that weekend.  Althugh there weren’t any films that I wanted to see, I knew that there was a Family Festcial that day. I thought that there would be vendors to give my hard-earned money to, but I was disappointed to find out that it wasn’t that kind of festival :(. We stayed for a bit, and took in the sights and ambiance of the city.

What’s a trip to the Big Apple without having lunch at one of their may dinerss. We stepped out of the train station and lo and behold, there was a diner just waiting for us to feast.

Image

This giant chessboard and pieces made me think of Alice in Wonderland

My heart almost stopped several times for them. These bikers were serious daredevils. I will post a video (apologies in advance, I do not know how to edit).

Image

What’s a trip to New York without bumping into a goat that climbs stairs?

Image

A group of school children were on hand to perform, I had to get out of there quick before I started to have silly thoughts of making one of my own.

Image

Image

Tourist pic!

Image

Very cool, but I have no idea what it is supposed to represent.

Image

Who do I bump into while making my way to the theater? Why Elmo of course.

Image

I’m finally here!!

Image

Hands down the best show that I have ever seen. I recommend it to you if you are into the arts and theater.

Image

Simba!

Image

Image

Rafiki was played by a woman, and she was THE star of the show!

Image

Outtake 

Why is my mouth always open??

Image

Outfit Details


1. Jacket: Arden B, Shirt: Old Navy, Pants: Sears, Shoes: Target

2. Coat: Charlotte Russe, Dress: Nordstrom, Shoes: Arden B

Leave a Reply

